2018 ANNUAL REPORT 31 MEET YOUR COUNTY ASSESSOR JEFFREY PRANG Jeff Prang was elected by the voters of Los Angeles County in 2014 to serve as the 27th Assessor. He represents over 10 million residents and leads the largest local assessment agency in the United States. Assessor Prang began his career in public service right here in the Los Angeles County Assessor’s Office almost 30 years ago, serving as a Special Assistant to then- Assessor Kenneth P. Hahn. He later served for nearly 18 years as a City Councilmember in West Hollywood, including four terms as Mayor. As a local official responsible for ensuring that vital local services, including infrastructure and public safety, were adequately funded and implemented, he gained a deep appreciation for an accurate, timely, and thorough Assessment Roll. Assessor Prang has brought a keen understanding of the necessary balance between fairness, accuracy, and thoroughness to his work as Assessor – knowing that while the Office is not one with a revenue function, the work of the Assessor forms the foundation of a property tax system that this year will provide over $15 billion for schools, cities, and county services. A State Board of Equalization-licensed appraiser, Assessor Prang is a leader of the California Assessors’ Association. He is also an active member of the International Association of Assessing Officers and the Society of Auditor-Appraisers. Assessor Prang’s tenure as a public servant also includes working as a Special Assistant to the Sheriff, as the Assistant City Manager in Pico Rivera, and as an aide to a Los Angeles City Councilmember. Raised in Warren, Michigan, Assessor Prang graduated from James Madison College at Michigan State University and holds a certificate from the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University. Jeffrey Prang 2014-Present John Noguez 2010-2014 Robert Quon 2010 Rick Auerbach 2000-2010 Kenneth P. Hahn 1990-2000 John J. Lynch 1986-1990 Alexander Pope 1978-1986 Philip E. Watson 1963-1977 John R. Quinn 1938-1962 E.W. Hopkins 1910-1938 Calvin Hartwell 1906-1910 Benjamin E. Ward 1902-1906 Alexander Goldwell 1898-1901 Theodore Summerland 1894-1898 F. Edward Gray 1891-1893 C.C. Mason 1887-1891 R. Bilderrain 1883-1886 J.W. Venable 1880-1882 A.W. Ryan 1876-1879 D. Botiller 1870-1875 M.F. Coronel 1868-1869 J.Q.A. Stanley 1866-1867 G.L. Mix 1863-1865 James McManus 1862 W.W. Maxy 1859-1861 Juan Maria Sepulveda 1857-1858 A.F. Coronel 1850–1856